REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL DESIGN

Signature de contrat

Whether you need to negotiate or renegotiate agreements with your cleaning companies or simply to define your list of building maintenance requirements, ValkarTech's professional RFP design service allow you to get personalized support and find the cleaning company that will best satisfy your expectations while staying within your budget. 

Housekeeping is a unique activity with multiple variables that affect many components. Considering the number of people it affects (employees, visitors and others) and the budgetary repercussions it entails (employees' salaries, purchases of products, equipment and materials, replacement of architectural finishes and others), this type of activity must be considered at its proper value.

It is imperative to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and sanitation in the facilities.  Special attention must be paid at all times to cleaning and disinfection to ensure the safety of occupants and workers.

WHAT IS A REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL DOCUMENT MADE OF?

Part A : Instructions to bidders

Part B : The submission documents

  • Details of the mandate

  • Information Session 

  • Bid Submission

  • Duration of the offer

  • Eligibility

  • Evaluation of bids

  • Price Requirements

  • Security Requirements (Bond)

  • Client and Bidder Certifications

  • Bidder's Obligations

  • Appendices:

    • Building matrix and pricing document

    • Addenda

    • Bond

    • Etc…

Part C : Terms and Conditions

  • Interpretation

  • Purpose

  • Terms of payment

  • Certificates

  • Obligations

  • End of contract

  • Entry into force

  • Etc…

Part D : The Technical Specifications

  • Mandate context

  • Human resources, staff qualifications

  • Commissioning

  • General provisions/structure required

  • Technical requirements

    • Definition of terms of use

    • Definition of tasks

  • Space type categories and associated teasks

    • Frequency of execution

  • Quality Management

    • Regular work monitoring and control

    • Special project work monitoring and control

THE FOUNDATION OF YOUR HOUSEKEEPING CONTRACT

SPACE TYPE CATEGORIES

| SPECIFYING THE NEEDS

The definition of space type categories and work frequencies is an important step in which the actual needs and requirements are clarified. In documents that have been revised several times over the years, we often encounter non-essential or outdated requirements. The most common example of this: floor stripping performed at a frequency of 1 to 2 times per year.

| MODERN TECHNOLOGY

With today's technology and good housekeeping practices, the frequency of floor stripping can be extended to every 6 or even 10 years! Nano technology can even eliminate the need for stripping and yet, this operation is still very common. Several other examples could be raised.

 

Professional validation of tasks and frequencies is essential because the definition of your space type categories is a fundamental element in the control of operations.

BUILDING MATRIX AND PRICING DOCUMENT

| ACTUAL NEEDS

The building matrix and pricing document is a critical element because it defines the budget expense centers and you are always better off paying for actual needs rather than for superfluous services. Take the example of surface areas. In the vast majority of RFPs analyzed through our mandates, the entire surface area of the building is listed.  Is this really representative of the needs in terms of housekeeping? Knowing that the rates are established according to the square footage, it is essential to start with a validation of all the surfaces to be cleaned and serviced. 

| COST INCREASES

Should cost increases be applied across the board? Absolutely not! Any increase must be justified. It is necessary to constantly keep a watchful eye on cost increases because charges are directly proportional to the size of your facilities and the scope of your contract.   

| SPECIAL WORK PROJECTS

In general, special work projects should not be included in the monthly billing. These jobs are performed on an as-needed basis, on demand, so why pay the service provider systematically without even knowing what has been performed? At the very least, the use of tools for effective follow-up and a cost breakdown for this type of work are required to ensure that payment is made only when work is carried out.

BID ANALYSIS TOOLS

We provide all the analytical tools to simplify and facilitate the evaluation of the proposals from various suppliers. We develop customized evaluation documents that allow for analysis derived directly from your bid specifications. Specific evaluation criteria are defined so that all proposals (bidders) are ranked by score;

| Qualitative Assessment: 

  • Envisioned organizational structure

    • Staff training, qualification and experience;

    • Oversight;

    • Communication methods;

    • Etc.

  • Quality control

    • Process​

    • Tools

    • Etc.

  • Corporate policies and practices

    • Staff training plan;

    • (DES, DVS or AVS in housekeeping)

    • Occupational health and safety;

    • Environmental practices;

    • Etc.

  • Commissioning Plan

    • Schedule

    • Timeline

    • Etc.

  • Major Comparable Contracts

    • Experience​

    • Service delivery

    • Etc.

  • Innovation program

    • Protocoles​

    • Complementary service

    • Etc.


|  Financial Offer Analysis: 

  • Total cost

  • Regular work

  • Special work project

  • Hourly rates

  • Equipment cost

  • Sanitary products cost

  • Hygienic products cost

Case study: Downtown Montreal client

The success of the RFP process, which will have a direct and positive impact on operating costs, undeniably relies on the use of a well-defined methodology adapted to the specific realities of the janitorial industry.  

 

And to generate savings that will persist over time, managers must invest time in sensible management, rigorous follow-up and constant control of the ongoing work, especially those special work projects.  

 

Only by doing so can considerable savings be made by allowing the costs associated with special work projects to be disbursed only when they are carried out and to pay only for the hours actually worked.

Through our RFP design service combined with our comprehensive housekeeping management support service, we have been able to see the almost instantaneous return on investment that comes from a thorough control over the work.    

 

Here is an example, taken from an actual report, on a $1.9M annual contract for a 1.3M sq.ft. building.  The English version starts on page 5, following the French version.

CONCEPTION DE DEVIS D’APPEL 
D’OFFRES

Que ce soit pour négocier ou renégocier des ententes avec vos entreprises d’entretien ménager ou simplement pour définir la liste de vos besoins en ce qui concerne l’entretien de vos immeubles, les services professionnels de création de devis d’appel d’offres proposés par ValkarTech vous permettent d’obtenir un soutien personnalisé et de trouver l’entreprise en entretien ménager qui répondra à vos attentes tout en respectant votre budget. 

 

L’entretien sanitaire demeure une activité unique avec de multiples variables qui ont des incidences sur plusieurs composantes. Considérant le nombre de personnes qu’elle affecte (personnel des différents services, visiteurs et autres) et les répercussions budgétaires qu’elle entraîne (salaires des employés, déplacements, achats de produits, d’équipements et de matériaux, remplacement des finis architecturaux et autres), cette activité doit être considérée à sa juste valeur.

Il est impératif d’assurer dans les établissements une qualité d’hygiène et de salubrité correspondant aux normes les plus élevées.  Une attention spéciale doit être portée en permanence au nettoyage et à la désinfection pour garantir la sécurité des occupants et des travailleurs.

DE QUOI EST COMPOSÉ UN DOCUMENT D’APPEL D’OFFRES

Partie A : Les instructions aux soumissionnaires

Partie B : Les documents de soumissions

  • Détails du mandat

  • Séance d’information

  • Dépôt des soumissions

  • Durée de l’offre

  • Admissibilité

  • Évaluation des soumissions

  • Exigences quant aux prix

  • Exigences quant aux sûretés

  • Attestations du client et du soumissionnaire

  • Obligations du soumissionnaire

  • Les annexes

    • Bordereau de soumission

    • Addenda

    • Cautionnement

    • Etc…

Partie C : Les conditions générales

  • Interprétation

  • Objet

  • Modalités de paiement

  • Attestations

  • Obligations

  • Fin de contrat

  • Entrée en vigueur

  • Etc…

Partie D : Le Devis Technique

  • Contexte de réalisation du mandat

  • Ressources humaines, qualification du personnel

  • Mise en service

  • Dispositions générales /structure exigée

  • Exigences techniques

    • Définition des termes d’usage

    • Définition des tâches

  • Banque de profils

    • Fréquence d’exécution

  • Gestion de la qualité

    • Contrôle des travaux réguliers

    • Contrôle des travaux périodiques

LA FONDATION DE VOTRE CONTRAT D'ENTRETIEN

CONCEPTION DES PROFILS

| PRÉCISER LES BESOINS

La conception des profils et des fréquences des travaux est une étape importante pendant laquelle les besoins réels et les critères sont précisés. Dans les documents qui ont été révisés plusieurs fois au fil des ans, nous retrouvons souvent des besoins non essentiels ou révolus. L'exemple le plus courant : le décapage des planchers avec une fréquence de 1 à 2 fois par année.

| TECHNOLOGIE MODERNE

Aujourd’hui, en combinant les bonnes pratiques à la technologie, la fréquence de décapage des planchers peut être repoussée aux 6 ans, voir même aux 10 ans! La technologie de la nano permet même d'éliminer le décapage et pourtant, cette opération demeure très répandue. Plusieurs autres exemples pourraient être soulevés.

 

La validation des tâches et des fréquences faite par des experts est essentielle car la conception des profils représente un élément fondamental au contrôle des opérations.

CONCEPTION DU BORDEREAU DE SOUMISSION

| BESOINS RÉELS

Le bordereau de soumission est un élément primordial car il définit les centres de dépenses budgétaires et il vaut toujours mieux de payer pour des besoins réels et non pas pour des services superflus. Prenons l’exemple des superficies. Dans la grande majorité des appels d’offres analysés à travers nos mandats, la superficie intégrale de l'immeuble est inscrite.  Est-ce réellement représentatif des besoins en termes d'entretien ménager?  Sachant que les tarifs sont établis en fonction du pied carré, il est essentiel de commencer par une validation de toutes les superficies à entretenir.  

| AUGMENTATIONS DE COÛTS

Les augmentations de coûts doivent-elles s'appliquer sur l'ensemble des services, de façon globale? Absolument pas.  Toute augmentation doit être justifiée. Il est nécessaire de garder un œil attentif en permanence sur la hausse des coûts car les charges sont directement proportionnelles à la dimension de vos installations et à l'ampleur de votre contrat.   

| PÉRIODIQUES

De façon générale, les travaux périodiques ne devraient pas être inclus dans la facturation mensuelle. Ces travaux sont exécutés au besoin, sur demande, alors pourquoi payer systématiquement le prestataire sans savoir ce qui a été accompli? À tout le moins, l'utilisation d'outils permettant un suivi efficace ainsi qu'une ventilation des coûts pour ce type de travaux sont de mise pour arriver à payer uniquement à l’exécution des travaux.

OUTILS D’ANALYSE DES SOUMISSIONS

Nous fournissons tous les outils d’analyse pour simplifier et faciliter l’évaluation des propositions des fournisseurs. Nous élaborons des documents d'évaluation personnalisés qui permettent une analyse découlant directement de votre devis d’appel d’offres.  Des critères d’évaluation précis sont définis afin que toutes les offres de services (soumissionnaires) soient qualifiée par pointage.

| Évaluation Qualitative : 

  • Structure organisationnelle envisagée

    • La formation, la certification et l’expérience du personnel ;

    • La supervision ;

    • Les moyens de communication ;

    • Etc.

  • Contrôle de la qualité

    • Processus​

    • Outils

    • Etc.

  • Politiques et pratiques corporatives

    • Le plan de formation du personnel ;

    • (DEP, AEP ou AEC en entretien ménager)

    • La santé et la sécurité ;

    • Les pratiques environnementales ;

    • Etc.

  • Plan de mise en service

    • Calendrier

    • Étapes

    • Etc.

  • Principaux contrats comparables

    • Expérience​

    • Prestation

    • Etc.

  • Programme d’innovation

    • Protocoles​

    • Service complémentaire

    • Etc.

| Analyse de l’offre financière : 

  • Coût total

  • Travaux périodiques

  • Travaux de routine

  • Taux horaires

  • Coût des équipements

  • Coût des produits sanitaires

  • Coût des produits hygiénique

Étude de cas : Client du centre-ville de Montréal

Le succès du processus d'appel d'offres, qui se manifestera par un impact positif et direct sur les coûts d'opération, repose indéniablement sur l'utilisation d'une méthodologie bien définie et adaptée aux réalités particulières de l'industrie de l'entretien ménager. 

 

Et pour générer des économies qui persisteront dans le temps, les gestionnaires doivent investir du temps dans une gestion avisée, un suivi rigoureux et un contrôle constant des travaux réguliers et surtout des travaux périodiques.  

 

C'est le seul moyen de faire des économies considérables en permettant de débourser les coûts liés aux travaux périodiques uniquement à l’exécution et de payer seulement les heures de travail réellement effectuées.

Grâce à notre service de conception d'appel d'offres combiné à notre service de prise en charge, nous avons été à même de constater le retour sur investissement quasi instantané d'un contrôle minutieux des travaux.  

 

Voici un exemple pour illustrer les économies réalisées uniquement sur le suivi des travaux périodiques, extrait d'un véritable rapport de prise en charge, sur un contrat annuel d'une valeur de 1,9M$ pour un immeuble d'une superficie de 1,3M de pieds carrés.