Durabilité / Sustainability
Certification LEED

LEED O+M: Existing Buildingsv4 - LEED v4

Green cleaning - custodial effectiveness assessment

1 point

Implement the strategies specified in the facility's green cleaning policy and conduct a routine inspection and monitoring.  This inspection shall ensure that the specified strategies have been implemented and shall identify areas requiring improvement.

 


Additionnally is it required to conduct an annual audit in accordance with APPA Leadership in Educational Facilities' Custodial Staffing guidelines, or a local equivalent, whichever is more stringent, to determine the facility's level of appearance. The facility must achieve a score of 2.5 or higher.

APPA audit for LEED Certification

The world's most recognized green building certification is also increasingly becoming the Canadian real estate market standard as the sustainability industry continues to grow.  Buildings that display LEED Certification must prove their compliance and include APPA auditing in their monitoring protocols.

The purpose of the monitoring exercise is to determine the visual quality of cleanliness within the building through the LEED certified method. The primary objective is to conduct an audit, according to APPA's operational guidelines which provide a comprehensive methodology for determining the level of cleanliness of a building. The ultimate goal of the assessment is to demonstrate that the service provided by the building's custodial crews ensures both a good level of comfort and the reduction of occupant exposure to contaminants. The goal of this effort is to reinforce the importance of cleanliness without limiting it to specific procedures focused on infection control. As we all know, cleanliness is the cornerstone of measures to control not only infections, but also other adverse effects such as allergies.  In addition, cleanliness is a key determinant of occupant satisfaction.

Auditor

By granting its building hygiene and sanitation consultants and auditors the LEED Green Associates professional certification, ValkarTech is once again demonstrating its commitment to providing up-to-date consulting services that reflect the environmental concerns of its LEED-certified clients and to collaborating on the performance of their buildings. To achieve this certification awarded by GBCI, the LEED Green Associate must demonstrate a strong understanding of green building practices and standards related to the design, construction, use, and maintenance of buildings for the practice of comprehensive, sustainable management.  Our auditors are also certified by the Mouvement Québécois de la Qualité and are Accredited Auditing Professionals by the Cleaning Management Institute, a division of the ISSA

Sampling

The auditor will prepare the audit plan and set up the database to establish the control sheets in accordance with the APPA procedure. This first step consists of recording the number of rooms per floor and their surface areas, defining the appropriate spaces for the audit (e.g., offices, corridors, meeting rooms, etc.) and assigning these spaces according to the APPA space category classification.  

All of the data prepared is imported into the software (according to the APPA guide) fully configured and used by our services for LEED audits. Recommended by APPA, this software allows to automatically determine the sampling grid (number of premises to be controlled) to obtain a random selection of the various premises to be controlled, and then to present the computed results.

Additionnal information - Selection or sampling process required. Randomly select the spaces to be audited and ensure that each space type is adequately represented. APPA requires that project auditors inspect a number of spaces equivalent to at least 10% of each space type and equivalent to at least 10% of the total area of each space type.  For all space types where 10% of the given room or space type totals less than five rooms, all spaces must be audited.

Methodology

Database development

Creating the sample

Visit and inspection

Presentation and report

This first step is to identify the number of rooms per floor and their sizes, determine the appropriate spaces for the audit, and allocate these spaces according to the APPA space category classification.   

A list of areas to be inspected is automatically generated. A number of rooms equivalent to at least 10% of each type of space and equivalent to at least 10% of the total area of each type of space is randomly selected. 

A certified auditor inspects the selected areas. Each space is evaluated according to the inspection grid in accordance with the assessment criteria set out in the APPA guidelines.

The audit results are presented and reported in accordance with LEED guidelines.  Each area is given an individual score according to the calculation rule established by LEED. The overall score for the building is then obtained by calculating an average.

Call us for a free initial consultation.

(514) 357-4812

Durabilité / Sustainability
Certification LEED

LEED O+M: Existing Buildingsv4 - LEED v4

Green cleaning - custodial effectiveness assessment

1 point

Mettre en œuvre les stratégies définies dans la politique de nettoyage écologique de l'établissement et effectuer une inspection et un contrôle de routine.  Cette inspection doit vérifier que les stratégies spécifiées ont été mises en œuvre et doit identifier les domaines nécessitant une amélioration.

 

Il est également exigé d'effectuer un audit annuel conformément aux directives de l'APPA Leadership in Educational Facilities' Custodial Staffing, ou un équivalent local, selon ce qui est le plus rigoureux, afin de déterminer le niveau d'apparence de l'établissement. L'établissement doit obtenir un score de 2,5 ou plus.

Audit APPA pour la certification LEED

La certification pour les bâtiments écologiques la plus reconnue dans le monde, devient aussi de plus en plus la norme sur le marché immobilier canadien, suivant la croissance de l'industrie de la durabilité.  Les immeubles qui affichent une Certification LEED, doivent démontrer leur conformité et inclure l'audit APPA dans leurs protocoles de contrôle.

L'exercice de contrôle vise à déterminer la qualité visuelle de la propreté au sein de l’édifice par le biais de la méthode certifiée LEED. L’objectif principal est de procéder à une vérification, selon les directives opérationnelles de l'APPA qui fournissent une méthodologie globale permettant de déterminer le niveau de propreté d'un immeuble. Ultimement, l’évaluation sert à démontrer que le service fourni par les équipes d'entretien ménager permet de garantir à la fois un bon niveau de confort et la réduction de l’exposition des occupants aux contaminants. Le but poursuivi par ce travail est de réaffirmer l’importance de la propreté sans se limiter aux procédures spécifiques centrées sur la lutte aux infections.  Comme nous le savons tous, la propreté est la pierre angulaire des mesures destinées à contrôler non seulement les infections, mais également d’autres effets indésirables comme les allergies.  De plus, la propreté est un élément déterminant pour la satisfaction des occupants.

Auditeur

En gratifiant ses consultants et auditeurs spécialisés dans l’entretien ménager de la certification pour professionnels LEED Green Associates, ValkarTech démontre une fois de plus sa détermination à offrir des services-conseils actuels et représentatifs des préoccupations environnementales de sa clientèle certifiée LEED et de collaborer à la performance de leurs immeubles. Pour obtenir la certification décernée par le GBCI, l’associé LEED Green doit faire valoir sa connaissance des pratiques et des normes de construction écologique liées à la conception, la construction, l’utilisation et l’entretien ménager des bâtiments pour la pratique d’une gestion globale et durable.  Nos auditeurs sont également certifiés par le Mouvement Québécois de la Qualité en plus de détenir la certification de Professionnels Certifiés en vérification (Accredited Auditing Professional) décernée par le Cleaning Management Institute, une division de l’ISSA. 

Échantillonnage

L'auditeur procédera à la préparation du plan de contrôle et au montage de la base de données pour établir les fiches de contrôle conformément à la procédure APPA. Cette première étape consiste à relever le nombre de locaux par étage ainsi que leurs superficies, à déterminer les espaces appropriés pour l’audit (par exemple, les bureaux, les corridors, les salles de réunions, etc.) et à attribuer ces locaux selon le classement de catégories d’espace APPA.  

L’ensemble des données préparées sont importées dans le logiciel (selon le guide de l’APPA) entièrement paramétré et utilisé par nos services pour les contrôles LEED. Recommandé par l’APPA, ce logiciel permet de déterminer automatiquement la grille d’échantillonnage (nombre de locaux à contrôler) pour obtenir une sélection aléatoire des locaux à contrôler, et par la suite de présenter les résultats calculés.

 

Pour information - Processus de sélection ou d’échantillonnage exigé. Choisir au hasard les espaces qui seront audités et faire en sorte que chaque type d’espace est suffisamment représenté. APPA exige que les auditeurs de projet inspectent un nombre de locaux équivalant à au moins 10 % de chaque type d’espace et équivalent à au moins 10 % de la superficie totale de chaque type d’espace. Pour tous les types d’espaces où 10 % de la pièce donnée ou l’espace type totalise moins de cinq locaux, tous les espaces doivent être vérifiés.

Méthodologie

Élaboration de la base de donnée

Création de l'échantillonnage

Visite et inspection

Présentation et rapport

Cette première étape consiste à relever le nombre de locaux par étage et leurs superficies, à déterminer les espaces appropriés pour l’audit et à attribuer ces locaux selon le classement de catégories d’espace APPA.   

Une liste de locaux à inspecter est générée automatiquement. Un nombre de locaux équivalant à au moins 10 % de chaque type d’espace et équivalent à au moins 10 % de la superficie totale de chaque type d’espace est choisi aléatoirement.

Un auditeur certifié effectue l'inspection des locaux préalablement sélectionnés. Chaque local est évalué selon la grille de contrôle conformément aux critères d’appréciation déterminés par les instructions de l’APPA.

Les résultats de l'audit sont présentés et remis dans un rapport conformément aux directives de LEED. Chaque local obtient un score individuel suivant la règle de calcul établie par LEED. Le score global de l'immeuble est ensuite obtenu par le calcul d'une moyenne.

Appelez-nous pour une première consultation gratuite.

(514) 357-4812